J.C. Hutchins is evil

I’m beginning to wonder whether J.C. Hutchins is actually a better podcast author than Scott Sigler.  Not only does he have some of the most famous names in both Sci-Fi and Podcasting read the “story so far” intros, 7th Son is one of the best stories ever, period.  I got cliffhangered so many times in Book 2 that it made me realise my ambitions of spacing the episodes out were shot; I can’t stop myself and after hurtling through Book 2 I’m already up to chapter 10 of the 17 available from Book 3.  Maybe it’s just been too long since The Rookie finished but for my money, Sigler-brand violent sci-fi horror comes in second to the involving, page-turning suspense of J.C. Hutchins.

And now I feel really bad about what I said in my earlier post.  At the end of book 2 JC scored some top secret book project and had to drop his conversational ramblings that I loved so much, shaving episodes back to the story-only shows usually reserved for podiobooks.com.  He emailed me after my last post to say thanks for the feedback – and although at the time I didn’t know he had been forced to cut back he was nice enough to not say a word about it.  It’s a shame, but he manages to holding down a job while he writes a book in 6 months and reads for his podcast so I’ll forgive him ๐Ÿ˜‰

He’s still evil though.  The guy leaves you hanging from bigger cliffs than we had in Heroes last year and Book 3 does it just as much as the other two ๐Ÿ˜€

2 thoughts on “J.C. Hutchins is evil

  1. Hey Spyder! Thanks for the kind words. Unbelievably, I have to write that new secret novel in *two* months, not six. Been a little busy around here….

    I really appreciate the awesome post. Take it easy!

    –J.C.

  2. Hi JC,

    I’ve been wondering why you never responded to this post after you commented on my first one within a day or two ๐Ÿ˜‰

    By 6 months I meant from the end of Book 2 (which is what you were saying at the time).

    Hope you get it finished in time, I’m still enjoying Book 3 and hoping once you finish the secret novel there’ll be plenty of time for your chatty podcasts ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.