It’s a post! omg!

I don’t have a reason for suddenly stopping, I was just keeping myself busy tinkering with computers and it never occurred to me that I should be keeping the blog alive. I even forgot about my “minimum once a month” rule that was designed to stop this from happening ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve had lots to keep me occupied – once I confirmed the new mac mini was able to play the occasional game, I had to turn my old desktop machine into the new incarnation of rei and then migrate my MythTV backend to it, the old Mac Mini into a media centre front end and various other fun things along the way. The backend has been working for a while but the frontend still needs a bit of tweaking (don’t they always).

Hasn’t helped that both of my flatmates are vocal about how the old simple interface was better. Problem is, I don’t want a computer that plays video hooked up to the TV. I want a media centre, and now I have it but the remote control is a bit tricky to get right. Remote Buddy will probably help me with that but doing everything I want looks like a lot of pain to set up. Good thing it has a 30 day trial I guess ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ll probably dredge up some of my MythTV migration experiences and post about that. We’ll see.

