The new Google mobile ActiveSync is working great for my calendars. Syncing iCal to google was pretty easy; I exported my 3 local calendars, cleared out the main Google calendar & created 2 new ones (naming my primary calendar “work” thanks to the stupid Outlook plugin), subscribed to all 3 via CalDav with Calaboration and then imported the data. No worries at all. I can create an event in iCal and 10 seconds later it appears on my phone πŸ˜€

There was a bit of confusion and duplication after syncing my Outlook calendar at work to Google (Did I mention the plugin’s main-calendar-only restriction is REALLY annoying? How about it’s complete inability to detect duplicates?) but that was pretty easy to clear up.

What I haven’t done is turn on address book syncing with the phone. As I suspected and others have confirmed, turning on ActiveSync for contacts & calendar stops iTunes from doing any sync work with them for the iPhone. Which, since iTunes initiates the contact sync to Google, means that contacts are no longer synced to my desktop.

Both forum posts I’ve just linked to have suggested fixes (particularly if you expand them beyond the accepted answer), but I can see three options personally to sync my contacts:

  • Resurrect the fancy iSync scheduling that I haven’t used since switching to the iPhone (I still use the scheduler, just for some Address Book hackery instead of activating the iSync menu)
  • Don’t drop Plaxo completely as I had planned, but use it to sync between google’s contacts and Address Book
  • Leave over-the-air contact sync disabled and continue with iTunes to Google contact sync

So far option 3 sounds the easiest to me. I don’t need to sync my contacts more than once a day (which is how often I sync with iTunes), over-the-air sync wouldn’t give me all of my contact numbers on the phone anyway, and this way I can completely disconnect from Plaxo.

Not that Plaxo is bad – I’ve really enjoyed the service, including a far better Outlook calendar sync platform than Google’s Outlook plugin provides – but ever since I switched my email to Google I have only used it for the Outlook sync (hotmail contact sync is enabled but I don’t need it anymore). It just doesn’t make sense to continue using it in light of Google’s improved Mac/iPhone sync options.

