I figure that while I’m on this learning experience it might be fun to document some of the things I’m learning along the way. Lessons so far:

  • Backgrounder works as advertised, but it sucks. Apps pop to the front rather than smoothly zoom in from the centre; after months of the proper app switching style this is quite jarring for Safari and Mail and unresolvably annoying for Categories. Without the background wipe the icons in each Category “folder” float on top of the normal springboard icons so you have to use the non-transparent black background option.
  • BossPrefs was cool, but SBSettings is amazing. All of the really useful settings are now available without loading a separate app; this baby is a springboard extension so it just pops down on top of the current app šŸ˜€
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6v8eWEPTQk
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SK4x26z674 (only the first half of this one is showing off features, you don’t have to watch it all).
  • The custom carrier logos for Australia look so much better than the defaults (at least for Optus).
  • I need to watch my downloading. I forgot to check my data use before jailbreaking, but between leaving exchange on 24/7 and downloading new jailbreak apps via 3G (they were mostly tiny, biggest I remember was 7mb) I’ve used 300mb in a week. Wifi will be seeing extensive use for the rest of this month šŸ˜¦
  • I don’t know if it will fit my needs but Stack looks like a lot of fun to play with.
  • 5 pages of apps might not sound like much, but after moving 27 game apps into one category and 15 apps I don’t use much into another, I’m down to 2 pages on my springboard. It’s so much better!
  • Be prepared for a lot of crashes in the first 48hrs as you set your jailbreak apps up and figure out what you want to keep. Anything that modifies the springboard has to reset it, including adding an app to a category; this can sometimes go wrong as categories crashed the springboard instead of resetting it at least 6 times today. A springboard reset doesn’t take as long as a full phone reset but it’s still annoying (shuts down the iPod) and chews up the battery.
  • Intelliscreen is better than I expected. I need to get rid of it before I find myself paying $10 to keep it šŸ˜‰
  • iWood is a good theme to start with after you jailbreak and install winterboard (I’m only using the background image so far).
