Migrating to gmail is hard when you’re a packrat. Especially one that spent years using Outlook Express πŸ™‚

I have basically every non-spam email sent to me in the last 8 years; I even have a few earlier than that. The oldest email I have is dated June 1999, from one of my first year uni subjects. I won’t know exactly how many emails I have until I finish moving it all to gmail, but rough estimates from the folder counts put the number around 12000. My Maildir folder is 620mb πŸ˜‰

I had a crazy number of folders on my IMAP server. My setup consisted of the usual collection of folders for sorting, but Outlook Express can get annoying with large folders so I wanted to keep the per-folder message count down. My solution, 8 years ago, was an “archive” folder which mirrored the major folders and I created a new set of them for every year. I’ve spent most of this evening combining them into 1000-mail chunks, I don’t want to babysit this process but I also don’t have enough confidence in the universe to try moving all emails in a single hit!
 

So why am I just now moving to gmail? That story will have to wait for another day. Don’t worry, the post is already written so I will actually follow up this time πŸ˜‰ but certain events are still in progress and I want to wait until they’re done before posting it.

I have to say though I’m not sure keeping all of this email was the best idea. I’ve glanced at a few old emails while sorting this evening and… well put it this way, would you want a detailed account of your uni years? πŸ™‚

