I now have a shiny white iPhone šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

I’m enjoying it quite a bit, aside from a fear of scratching it. I wanted to post about my experience buying one, on a day where it sold out world wide I got extremely lucky.

I had already decided to go with the Optus $39/month plan. About the same price as my existing plan, with 500mb of data per month; AJ convinced me that I didn’t even need the 700mb I had originally planned for. As I mentioned in my last post, with 9gb of music and plenty of podcasts I needed a 16gb model and had since decided on a white one to hide fingerprints on the back.

What I hadn’t decided was if I would get one on launch day or not.

So I woke up at 6am, intending to head to one of the 7am launch openings. However, it was really fricken cold and having skipped the pre-order I figured that my chances of actually getting one were so low that it wasn’t worth freezing my arse off.

In spite of that, once I was at work I called a nearby Optus store to see if they had any. They didn’t answer the phones all morning, but at 11am I got through – and they had two white ones left! How’s that for luck!

After I explained that I wanted a contract and could be there in 15 minutes, a phone was set aside for me and I took an early lunch. I still can’t believe they were willing to hold one, it’s not like they would have had any problems selling it.

It wasn’t completely smooth of course – the activation process was already overloaded by midday Australian time, so I went back to work phoneless. Having now heard about the problems around the world I think the Optus employees did a very good job to activate the phones they did – the big store in Brisbane apparently sold so many phones that later purchases wouldn’t be activated until the next morning. As it was, I made it back to my store at 4:45pm just as they were starting my activation and it took 45 minutes before I had the phone in my hands.

I did, however, walk out without paying a cent. I love Optus post-paid plans šŸ˜€

The only other glitch in the whole process was that in the activation rush my 2G to 3G sim upgrade hadn’t actually been processed, but I went back to the store today and it was all fixed in about 5 minutes.

The battery life seems ok so far, particularly considering the playing-with-new-toy factor. I have always synced my iPod nightly to update the podcasts so I don’t mind if the iPhone needs charging every night šŸ™‚

Speaking of which, I have no idea what I’m going to do with my old 60g iPod. I hadn’t planned to replace it this soon, which is a bad sign – I totally fell for the launch day hype. Oh well.

I do find it amusing though, that it’s been barely more than two years since I bought the old iPod. I usually make my technology last far longer than the stereotypical two year upgrade cycle (my old phone is from 2001), but I’ve been breaking my own rules recently. Even more amusing is my comments at the time about the then-rumored video iPod. I can still see a few of those issues in the phone, but the video iPod interface has turned out to be quite nice (mostly, I’ll blog about that later).

