The first Scott Sigler podcast novel, Earthcore, was released in early 2005.  Having heard about this awesome story from podcasts I was listening to at the time, I subscribed.

In late 2005, a few weeks after Earthcore finished, Ancestor started.  I moved the Earthcore files out of my podcast list into a special playlist, and remained subscribed.  And so this continued, with Infection in March 2006 and The Rookie in September.

Finally, 2 weeks ago I finished up my backlog of podcasts and with not much else to listen to, started on Earthcore.  Each episode is 30-45 minutes, but since then I’ve listened to all 23 EarthCore episodes and just finished the 22 for Ancestor.  I’ve started on Infection, which is a full 26 episodes.

Needless to say, I’m completely hooked.  The stories are enthralling, but what really makes it addictive is the storytelling.  Scott himself narrates the book, and does a fantastic job at bringing his creation to life.

If you enjoy sci-fi thrillers, the kind of story that makes you jump at strange noises and conjures up images of death when you’re alone in the dark – you owe it to yourself to listen to these novels.  I guarantee that within the first few episodes of Earthcore, you’ll be hooked and the plot quality only gets better with the later novels.

You can grab the first three from podiobooks, which has this handy little feature to let you dictate a subscription speed rather than grabbing them all at once.  I recommend using this option, otherwise you’ll end up like me spending two straight weekends listening 😉

The Rookie is still in progress (although nearly complete) and so you’ll have to download it from the main feed.

Earthcore
Ancestor
Infection
The Rookie

They’re explicit, full of violence, and very highly recommended.

