WordPress.com updated their dashboard tonight, and while looking at recent posts on the wordpress.com blog I noticed they’ve introduced domain redirecting for $10/year. They offer registration too but they retain a little too much control over it (admittedly something they want to work on).

Ever since my friends and workmates found out about my blog they’ve been telling me I should’ve set it up on my own domain; well now I can, and this blog is still small enough that I don’t need to worry about losing people. All of my readers that I know about are smart enough to either use an RSS reader that supports redirects or know how to update the one they’re using.

The problem I’m facing now is… what domain do I pick? This is one of the reasons I didn’t set up a domain earlier – I can’t think of a good one. All of the decent spyder.blah domains are taken, and although spyder.vg is available I’m not entirely sold on buying a country-specific domain name from somewhere I don’t live. I only mention it because personally I would associate a .vg domain more with videogames than the British Virgin Islands.

Any suggestions? I’m leaning towards a domain along the lines of <something>spyder.net – it’s the <something> I can’t come up with.

Perhaps something related to what I do, or a play on words such as funnelwebspyder.net (which I’m considering but sounds a little too evil / deadly for my liking). Domains like aussiespyder.net and kiwispyder.net are available but that’s not really what I’m looking for.

