When the Nintendo DS lite was first announced, I wondered how long I’d be able to hold out (having purchased the original DS on release day). I now know the answer – not quite 4 months since the Australian release on June 1st ūüėČ

What’s happened is that over the last few weeks, I’ve discovered some things that have broken down my barrier to trading in the old system and upgrading. In order:

  1. Announcement that the Black DS Lite is coming to Australia on September 21st.
  2. EB Games introducing a 10% increase in trade-in rewards for the month of September.
    • They’ll still only give me about half of what they charge for a second-hand DS, but I don’t know anyone who would buy my old one and I’m too lazy to sell it on eBay.
  3. Figuring out how to get my Flash Card with homebrew software working in a DS Lite.
  4. Today I noticed just how much the battery life improved, which will be essential on my long trip to Thailand.

I’d already played around on my sister’s DS Lite which she received 2 months ago, and so I knew how much better the system is.  The brightness and a much harder touch screen are what impress me the most (the original screen is so soft I’m constantly scared of scratching it). Luckily I couldn’t get my flash card working at the time, so I easily convinced myself that I didn’t need one. I later worked out how to fix that, which makes today’s discovery unstoppable.

For my trip to Thailand, I want to stop in Singapore and do some shopping. Unfortunately, the only way the travel agent could organise this left me with 10hrs to kill and I’m not that much of a shopaholic. My iPod will last 20hrs (probably longer with the brightness turned down), it was just my DS that I was worried about.

The original DS ran 6 to 10 hours on a full recharge, and the DS Lite runs for about the same number of hours on its maximum brightness. The new model can run 15 to 19 hours on its lowest brightness, 10 to 15 hours on its second level of brightness, 7 to 11 hours on its third level, and 5 to 8 hours on the maximum level.

I’m more than happy playing at the third level, and the second level is about equivalent to the original DS which I can handle having used that for 18 months.  In a darkened plane, I can turn it down to the lowest setting which extends the life even further.

 

Nintendo, you kill me.

