It was with some amusement that I read last weeks news about downgrading Pluto from planet status. Besides the old acronyms becoming obsolete, one of the first things that popped into my head was “wow, astrologists are screwed” 😉

Looks like I’m not the only one. There are a plethora of articles around covering reactions from astrologists, most call the decision stupid and/or say they’ll ignore astronomy and include it anyway.

Is it just me, or is this proof that astrology is simply a fantasy cooked up to make people feel better? The planet wasn’t even discovered until 1930, by astronomers. Including it in a new system of prediction is fine, but when astronomers decide Pluto isn’t a planet for reasons such as the existence of larger chunks of rock orbiting the sun you need to change your system because it’s broken.

Take Pluto out or add the new dwarf planets in, but don’t just ignore the people who gave you the system you base your predictions on because that’s hypocrytical.

I’m probably a little off target with the finger pointing, and certainly not all astrologists are ignoring the decision – but I’m biased, I’ve never believed in astrology. Everything time I hear someone talking about their astrological predictions, they’re taking the very general prediction they’ve been given and either either twisting something that has happened to fit or altering their life to suit (which sounds dangerously stupid to me).

