I was putting together my previous post about buying podsafe music, and spent so much time describing how much I loved each of the albums I’m buying that the post was getting out of control! So I split the fun stuff into a new post.

By far my favourite thing about listening to music on podcasts, particularly popular stuff from the Podsafe Music Network (PMN), is that it’s better than 99% of what I’ve heard coming out of mainstream radio (there is one notable exception in Australia).  While listening to what follows I sometimes dance around if nobody’s watching, and all I can feel is pride in knowing that this podcasting business really is a revolution, and I’m able to experience it as it happens.  In the process I’ve discovered some of the best music I’ve ever heard and I never would have found it otherwise.

When reading this post, try to keep in mind that I have purchased 10 CDs tops in the last ~7 years. Between the illegal music floating around uni and generally not liking the selection of mainstream music for sale, I just kept my money to myself for all but the absolute best cds that I wanted to support. So when I buy this much music, it’s not coming from someone who usually runs out to buy the hottest thing on the radio – each and every one of these bands has touched, inspired or simply awed me through a podcast they were played on.

I can’t remember exactly which artist I first heard through which Podcast, so I’ll only specify if it’s important.  I do know however that they all came from either Accident HashDaily Source Code or more recently the Starcast πŸ™‚

I have put links for each artist to their PMN page where you can hear every single song that hooked me.  I’ll be very surprised if anyone listens to every single artist but even if you only listen to one, the purpose of this post will have been fulfilled πŸ˜€

So, without further ado here’s my list of podsafe artists I like and/or love. There is no order to this and no intentional links related to purchasing in this post, I put all of those in my previous one.

  1. Kevin Reeves, who has been played quite a bit on shows I listen to and I enjoyed his style. His album “It’s About Time” is out now, and a few of the tracks are on the PMN. I documented how much Kevin rocks in previous posts a few months ago πŸ™‚
  2. Matthew Ebel. Simply a fantastic album, his tracks on the PMN have been played all over podcast land and with good reason.  Quite a few of his tracks are described as “top down driving around” music, although that can lead to speeding tickets πŸ˜€
  3. Taxi Doll. Very cool “rocktronica” sound that appealed to me the second I heard it on Accident Hash as I am a huge Garbage fan. They recently removed all tracks from their PMN page for some unknown reason, but the entire album can be played through flash on their website – the third track “look at what you got” is the one that hooked me  πŸ˜€
  4. My Little Radio are just plain awesome, but don’t have an album yet 😦 I listen to their tracks on the PMN far too regularly, particularly the song that hooked me “waste another night”. I will be buying their album the second it’s available. I got to the point where I actually went out and contacted CC Chapman in late January, he told me they were heading to the studio within 2 weeks – I just discovered on myspace that while it may not have happened quite that fast it should be available this month πŸ˜€
  5. Anemo. Holy crap this band rocks, I love their style. Reminds me a little of EvanescenceMade of Fiction was the track that hooked me instantly.
  6. Number One Fan. A few tracks on the PMN, nice pop rock sound and enjoyable enough that I would like to keep a copy of their music around.
  7. 46bliss. Out of all the bands I’ve listed here as heard from podcasts, their song In a Long Time was the very first song to ever grab me by the balls and refused to let go. Crap, was that a year ago?  It’s a shame I’ve waited this long before actually buying their CD.
  8. Mike Errico. The track “skimming” has been played quite a bit, if you haven’t heard it check it out on the PMN. That track alone is why I’m buying his CD, while the other 2 PMN tracks didn’t immediately appeal to me they do grow on you.
  9. Jody Shelton. I nearly had a heart attack when their website had no mention of a CD, as the track blur is one of those ones that really touched me. Then in a stroke of brilliance I searched CD Baby, and found it on what is quickly becoming my favourite music site.
  10. Tourist. Throwing Stones was the first song of theirs I heard, and it’s a kickass track that appealed to me immediately and only got better. Not much more I can say, I’m really lookin forward to this CD πŸ˜€
  11. Laura Clapp was someone I discovered on the Daily Source Code, and the play on there came from some big chain of friends that Adam Curry pointed out was part of the awesome social network that is building up around podsafe music.  Hey Hey Sister was the song that hooked me, which is on the PMN along with a growing collection of her other songs – the latest addition “Not For Me” is going to make me buy her next CD as well πŸ˜‰
  12. Blame Amy don’t have their own PMN page as Piggyback Records put themselves as the artists for each band in their lineup – but on the last page is the first song I heard of theirs, “Perfect Fit”.  Love it.
  13. [Munk] just plain rocks with his genre-defying range of music.  He got notice with his podcast anthem “podpeople”, which is on page 2 of his PMN site.  Also check out “dirty work” on the first page.
    A couple of months ago, he did an interview on Accident Hash.  That interview covered all the major reasons why podcasting is or will be more successful than a record label deal, and I have already used it to try convincing a band to put their tracks up on the PMN.
  14. The Substitutes haven’t had a huge amount of play on podcasts, but wherever I heard them, the tracks “down on my lady” and “god is cocaine” stuck in my head.  Check both tracks out on page 2 of their PMN site.
  15. I first heard the music of Rob Costlow a very, very long time ago (I believe it was first on the DSC).  He has absolutely fantastic instrumental piano music, his song “I Do” is just beautiful and has quite rightly been very popular.  I can’t remember if it was that track or one of the others, but he wrote it to play for his wife at their wedding.  About the only response worthy of that is “wow”.
  16. Jon Schmidt is another Piano artist, although not completely instrumental.  I have no real idea where I found this guy, but he was on my list for a good reason.  To refresh my memory I listened to the song at the top of his website top 10, All of me – and decided to add the CD it’s from (August End) to my list immediately.
  17. Beth Thornley has this awesome little track called Mr. Lovely that I played off the PMN every day for at least a week after first hearing it.  Easy addition to my list.
  18. LoveSpirals didn’t enter my list until recently, although they’ve been played on the podcast scene for quite a while.  Vocalist Anji Bee has a hypnotic voice to die for, and I’ve been enjoying her podcast The Chillcast.  Binary StarCAST played Love Survives on a recent episode, and I was finally hooked πŸ˜‰
  19. Brother Love has been huge amongst podcasts, if you haven’t heard any of his music then you either don’t listen to podcasts or haven’t been paying attention.  The three songs on his PMN page are among the most played of all time from the network, collectively I’d be willing to bet they top any band.  None of that really matters to me though, I put him on my list because I enjoy his music, not because somebody told me to!
  20. Chance began selling all of his music independently through his website in 2004.  A brave move, but it looks like it’s paid off.  He probably hasn’t been quite as big as Brother Love, but his music has also been very popular especially after his simulcast of a concert on many podcasts.  Chance and Brother Love are often used as shining examples of how successful podsafe music has been, and a lot of that is because they’re both fantastic artists.  Check out “Say what you Will” and “Hip Hop High” from his PMN site to see what I mean.
  21. Lorena Miré has a beautiful voice, and the combination of a band fronted by acoustic guitar with what could quite easily be rock songs makes for a sound that just hits a note with me.  Check her out on her PMN site, the two songs that got me are “Kid in a Candy Store” and “Shaking You”.
  22. bill have a varied sound that is nothing short of addictive.  If you listen to nothing else from this lineup, head to their PMN site and play “Sound Scientist”.  That, and “Panacea” are the songs that I fell in love with.

I can’t let this post finish without plugging 4 girls who were the first big stars of podsafe music, I purchased both of their albums off the iTunes music store the day it opened in Australia.  They would be the Lascivious Biddies, who describe themselves as a cocktail pop quartet although sometimes the music has more of a jazz feel to it.  Their song “Famous” is the one that not only rocketed them to fame on podcasts but is also the catalyst I remember as kicking off the entire Podsafe Music Network.  Head over and take a listen.

So there you have it.  I hope you enjoyed this pair of posts, it packs some of my varied taste in music into one big list.  I’m already starting a new list of artists I forgot to buy the first time, and ones I’m only just discovering – so I’ll do another one of these once the shipping costs per CD drop to an acceptable level πŸ™‚

