When the news first broke about purchasing Bradsoft, Nick gave us somewhat of a brief overview about why he took the offer.

I didn’t have a problem with it then, as I trusted Nick’s judgement; but I now have a much better understanding of why Nick trusts Greg Reinacker so much. He’s a believer in open information flow to customers, which is one of the things I love about Nick.

Yesterday afternoon I noticed, as did anybody else using Newsgator, that the sites were down, and FD popped up with this annoying error message every 5-10 minutes. When it all started working this morning, the first thing I did was check the forums – and Greg had linked to his most recent blog entry as an explanation.

I highly recommend reading his post. It’s full of gory technical detail about database failures and I love it. Open information flow is probably my favourite thing about the web recently; whether it be from bands, podcasters or company management, getting this sort of information out to the public who would have previously been given “we had a server failure, I’m sorry” is so much better and to me, a whole lot of fun to experience as it becomes the norm.

Props to Greg for handling this so well, sounds like it was a pretty nasty issue.

