I’ve got a huge queue of music (15 artists) that I’ve heard on podcasts and want to buy an album from. Tonight I decided to get that rolling, and I had planned to document the experience in a blog entry because I anticipated buying that much independant music from Australia was going to hit some bumps. Well the post is still in progress, but I hit a brick wall on the very first purchase.

Kevin Reeves is offering his album for pre-order. Very cool deal, 4 tracks in advance and a bonus live track. Except it’s through Paypal.

 

Paypal and I have a morbid history. 3 years ago (fark time flies) I wanted to donate some money to Penny Arcade back when they were using copies of the Cardboard Tube Samurai comic as a bribe to get donations. I dutifully signed up to Paypal, since PA reported Amazon scraping a higher % off the top. Unfortunately, after I’d let them take US$2 to verify the card, when I went to pay the system decided to restrict my account.

They had rejected my credit card, and requested a photocopy of my drivers license. I thought that was a bit weird, but eventually managed to get that and faxed it (to an international number I might add, and it took 2 tries as they told me the first was too dark). However once they had that, they asked for a photocopy of my credit card statement. I told them where to shove that request, no way in hell I’m faxing that internationally.
(in case you were wondering, yes I have a very good memory ;))

But 3 years later I decide that purchasing fantastic music from independant artists was worth giving it another shot. Unfortunately, all that got me was The credit card you entered cannot be used for this payment. Please enter a different credit card number. It’s not even the same card. I really hate this s^$t, but I’m going to try and resolve it for the sake of getting decent music. I’m fairly sure there will be other artists (such as bill) who only accept paypal too.

 

As a last resort I have flatmates, friends or family with credit cards I and can almost certainly ask for a favour to make purchases; I really hope it doesn’t come to that though.

 

UPDATE:
I emailed Kevin to let him know that I wanted to buy his album – and he decided to send me a copy for free! I love podsafe artists, after years of commercial music it’s amazing how accessible and responsive they are.

Please, please go support this fantastic artist. And if you’re a DSC listener, wait and see if the pissed off audio feedback he submitted to Adam Curry is played anytime soon ๐Ÿ˜‰

