I’ve been giving some thought to what I should take screenshots of in FD 2.0. I decided that a good start would be how I use FD day-to-day, since that is one of the central benefits of this release.

I’m using this as an exploration of the WordPress image upload feature, which I must say is impressive but breaks when I try to save and continue editing. Also, trying to display a series of images with left alignment is a pain because you can’t set styles 😦

I’ll start with a Jealousy screenshot that I always like to include; FD running full screen on my uber dell monitor. All subsequent shots will be at a much more manageable size 😉

  • FD Fullscreen

    Notice how this is different again to the screenshots Judi posted – her screenshots are a couple of builds old now, there have been mostly subtle but very welcome improvements.

     

  • FD Unread CountsSince my work monitor runs at a much more standard 1280×1024, this is how I usually browse my feeds. Notice the unread counts are still visible despite totally shrinking the feed list; this still makes me drool whenever I notice it.

     

  • FD and MediaRSSThis is what MediaRSS feeds look like in FeedDemon. And no, I don’t know any of those people, what you’re looking at is a simple Flickr Tag Feed. Yahoo supports MediaRSS feeds too.

     

  • FD and MediaRSS #2When you click on one of the images, you are given the full post (which is optionally visible in the main newspaper). Notice how FD hasn’t expanded the folder. You can now view a full post by itself without changing the FD views.

     

  • Toggle Read button

    This is something I’ve been waiting for since I don’t know when. Marking posts as read from within the newspaper is one of the single biggest FD productivity improvements ever.

     

Testing new products is some of the most fun you can have as a computer user, and when that product is one of the best around with a developer who listens, discusses and often agrees with your suggestions it becomes a fantastic experience.

If there is anything specific you want to see a screenshot of, leave a comment and I’ll do up another post before FD hits next week.

